Scottish Geographical Medal

The Scottish Geographical Medal is the RSGS’s highest accolade, awarded for conspicuous merit and a performance of world-wide repute.  It was awarded first in 1890 as the Gold Medal, and from 1933 as the Scottish Geographical Medal.

2016           Dr Rita Gardner CBE

2015           Dr Frederik Paulsen

2012           Sir David Hempleman-Adams LVO OBE

2011           Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE FRS

2008           Professor Nigel Thrift

2006           Dr Vanessa Lawrence CB

2004           Professor David Lowenthal

2003           Professor Robert A Dodgshon

2002           Professor Sir Ron Cooke DSc

2001           The American Geographical Society

2000           Professor Kenneth J Gregory

1999           Professor Colin Clarke

1998           Professor J Terence Coppock CBE

1997           Professor Eckart Ehlers

1996           Gilbert M Grosvenor

1995           Professor Herman Th Verstappen

1994           Dr Denis St-Onge

1993           Professor Peter Haggett

1992           The Sierra Club, USA

1989           The Rt Hon The Lord Shackleton of Burley

1988           Professor Stig Jaatinen

1984           Professor J Wreford Watson

1972           George E R Deacon CBE FRS DSc

1969           Professor James Alfred Steers

1964           Professor Laurence Dudley Stamp CBE DSc LLD

1958           Sir Vivian Ernest Fuchs PhD

1954           Dr John Bartholomew MC JP FRSGS

1945           Professor Herbert John Fleure DSc

1944           James M Wordie

1933           The Baron Meston of Agra and Dunottar KCSI LLD

previously known as the Gold Medal

1927           John Mathieson FRSE FRSGS

1924           Dr Hugh Robert Mill DSc

1923           Professor John W Gregory FRS

1919           Rt Hon Field-Marshal Earl Haig of Bemersyde KT KCB

1915           Dr J Scott Keltie Kt LLD

1913           Professor Albrecht Penck

1912           Captain Roald Amundsen

1911           James Young Buchanan FRS

1910           Professor James Geikie DCL LLD FRS

1908           Dr Sven Anders Hedin

1906           HSH Albert, First Prince of Monaco

1905           Colonel Sir Francis Younghusband KCIE

1904           Dr William Speirs Bruce

1897           Dr Fridtjof Nansen

1890           Henry Morton Stanley MP